Posted by: Michi | September 26, 2009

Typhoon Ondoy devastates Manila

The heavy rain woke me up today. We were expecting the typhoon tomorrow but I was surprised when mum told me that the storm is now here in Southern Luzon. The electricity was fluctuating and eventually shut down. It was really bad. There was also no water supply and the cellphone signals were bad.

We heard from my sister, who’s still stuck in Manila as I write this, that the roads are flooded and school is suspended. Word has it that some parts of my town are also covered with water. Terrible.

We didn’t really know the gravity of the typhoon until after the electricity went back. We turned on the TV and I also went online. What we saw were terrible photos and continuous video coverage of the devastated Manila area. I was surprised from the people’s comments in Facebook such as “I’ve never witnessed this kind of storm before…” or “I’m still stranded in the highway…”

And then these pictures…Oh. My. God.

Marikina River Bank

Marikina River Bank

At DLSU Manila

At DLSU Manila

Katipunan Road

Katipunan Road

Makati

Makati

Loyola Heights

Loyola Heights

Ayala, Makati

Ayala, Makati

Makati again

Makati again

Gen. De Jesus St.

Gen. De Jesus St.

Ayala Extension

Ayala Extension

Whoa!

Whoa!

Makati again

Makati again

Makati Med

Makati Med

DLSU Manila

DLSU Manila

QC, Sikatuna

QC, Sikatuna

Oh my.

Oh my.

Guadalupe Bridge

Guadalupe Bridge

Another surprise is this photo that I saw in Facebook. I thought that some this is just some girl who looks like Cristine Reyes. Well, lo and behold, she was being interviewed via GMA-7 because she has been stuck on her roof from 1:30 in the afternoon until now.

Actress Cristine Reyes on the roof waiting for rescue

Actress Cristine Reyes on the roof waiting for rescue

I bet that many people are also in her situation. It’s really a pity when situations like these happen. I hope that people will be rescued. I can’t help but think about my friends and relatives. I hope they’re safe.

My sister will spend the night on the bus. She’s still stuck in traffic. I hope she’ll be fine.

SOURCES:

http://azraelsmerryland.blogspot.com/2009/09/flood-rain-and-traffic-everywhere.html

http://www.selaplana.com/2009/09/26/typhoon-ondoy-floods-manila/


Responses

  1. Wow! I knew that the typhoon caused damages in the Phillipines twice or more on TV. But I didn’t know that it was so terrible! I hope that the conditions of many victims will recoverd quickly.

  2. […] people showed during the holidays. Such spirit maybe difficult to find after all the tragedies and disasters that bequeathed the […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

