Posted by: Michi | September 14, 2009

I Can’t Make you Love me

This song is included in Rolling Stone Magazine’s “The 500 Greatest Songs of All Times.” The brutally honest song was written by Mike Reid and Allen Shamblin and recorded by Bonnie Raitt in 1991. Since then, many artists have rendered their own versions of the song. George Michaels, Prince and Bette Midler were some of these artists. Here in the Philippines, I’ve heard that Arnie Hidalgo made her own rendition as well. But my favorites are Nina and Aiza Seguerra’s versions.

Actually, I found out that Reid’s idea in writing this song came when he read a newspaper article regarding a man who was arrested for getting drunk and shooting at his girlfriend’s car. When the judge asked the man if he learned anything, his answer was, “I learned, Your Honor, that you can’t make a woman love you if she don’t.”

Interesting😉

I Can’t Make you Love me

By: Bonnie Raitt

Turn down the lights, turn down the bed
Turn down these voices inside my head
Lay down with me, tell me no lies
Just hold me close, dont patronize – dont patronize me

Chorus: cause I cant make you love me if you dont
You cant make your heart feel something it wont
Here in the dark, in these lonely hours
I will lay down my heart and Ill feel the power
But you wont, no you wont
cause I cant make you love me, if you dont

Ill close my eyes, then I wont see
The love you dont feel when youre holding me
Morning will come and Ill do whats right
Just give me till then to give up this fight
And I will give up this fight
Chorus: cause I cant make you love me if you dont
You cant make your heart feel something it wont
Here in the dark, in these lonely hours
I will lay down my heart and Ill feel the power
But you wont, no you wont
cause I cant make you love me, if you dont


Responses

  1. Hey, I found your blog in a new directory of blogs. I dont know how your blog came up, must have been a typo, anyway cool blog, I bookmarked you. 🙂 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

